Confessions of a Clean Eater

So I have been on my digestive spring clean challenge for the past 58 days and for the most part it really hasn’t been a big deal.  Removing junk food and alcohol from my diet hasn’t been that big of a shock to my system because in all honesty I really don’t eat too much junk food and having some wine would normally be kept to once a week anyways.  However, for the past week or so I have been having some serious will power failure.

temple of doom
Before I go on I feel it important to say that clean eating to me is about making better choices for myself and my body, it isn’t the end all be all of eating and living.  It is one of many healthy ways of eating and living to help you achieve your goals and maintain overall health and fitness.  For me these challenges and this way of eating makes a lot of sense but I do understand that it isn’t for everyone.

I love vegetables, I love fruits and fresh clean meats, so eating clean has always just been a good idea for me.  That being said recently (after my cheat day) I have been struggling hard with keeping on pace with my goals and with staying within the parameters that I had set out for myself during this challenge. It has turned into a 60% eat clean 40% binge eat junk food.  I am getting back on track but I am struggling these days.

I am writing this post in the hopes of getting myself to suck it up through two days of craving sweets and salty potato chips and just get myself to recommit to my goals and my challenge.  I also thought it would be a great opportunity to share my human side seeing how I do a lot of posting about how things are going well and how I am doing great.  I do attempt to balance it out with my struggles because I think it is overcoming struggles and difficulties that make the journey worth it, not all the smooth sailing that can happen from time to time.

So now what? The goal here is to get back on track, I am more than halfway through this challenge and in just 43 days left of this cleaning I have enough time to recommit myself and get back on track to fix any potential damage/set backs and turn it all around. I think the best thing for me to do at this time is to focus on one day at a time, be sure to get in my exercise (physical activity always makes me want to eat healthier) and just focus on each moment instead of each mistake I have made in the past week and a bit.

The RockOnce I get to the first day of summer, I can stop and reassess how I want my regular diet to look, but for now it is back to eating clean, no more candies and removing the alcohol again. I know my body will thank me for it and so will my school work for that matter.

Have any of you had to deal with these types of struggles and self imposed goals and challenges?   How do you stay on track?

 

 

Leave a Reply

