Motivational Monday – weekend workouts

Yup you heard it first I workout on weekends. Traditionally would give myself Sundays off as a rest day but the new training plan I am on has me resting Mondays instead. Because of this change in my regular programming it took a substantial mental push to make sure I put on my gym clothing and got my but in gear Sunday morning.

I went through the internal back and forth of “maybe I will just skip this one Sunday and workout on Monday this time” to the “my belly hurts I couldn’t possibly workout” and the ever famous “I am too busy I don’t have time to spend an hour at the gym”. After trying to talk myself out of it I eventually went on auto pilot and reminded myself that it was only an hour and my reward would be getting to have a full Monday off.

Having Monday off this week was fairly attractive because I was writing an exam for school in the morning and the idea of having to do nothing but some meal prep and watching Charmed until my husband got home from work was pretty appealing.

Also as it turned out hitting up the gym at 8am on a Sunday have me loads of space for my workout, I didn’t have to share equipment and I was out of there before most people started to come in for their own workouts. Also lucky for me the gym is located next to a Starbucks so I had some prime study space available right after working out.
20140427-161624.jpg

Basically after trying to talk myself out of the gym I realized that workout on the weekend has now made me less busy for the week, gave me an excuse to study some more (not that I needed one) and I got to finish up some weekend errands on the way home, all before noon.

What I am trying to say here is your motivation for getting yourself to the gym, lacing up your runners or showing up on your yoga mat can be as simple as having a free evening during the week. Also early morning workouts help to kick start your metabolism and your day. You will surprise yourself at just how much you can accomplish and still have time to relax with family.

I hope you took that time to give yourself some time this weekend. Even if it wasn’t a workout, maybe it was time with a loved one you haven’t spoken to in a while, a relaxing bubble bath or taking the time to plan and prep your meals for the week. Whatever it was I hope it served you well.

20140427-161810.jpg

I hope you all had a great weekend and happy Monday.

Leave a Reply

