Weekend Round Up and a Fist Shake to Netflix

This past weekend was exactly what the doctor ordered, so to speak.  After several months of being busy running from here to there to here again, this past weekend allowed for much rest.  With my departure for Yoga Teacher Training coming up quickly there have been a couple of things I have been in the process of wrapping up, one of which was my Personal Trainer Certification.    It has been something I had been toying with the idea of for some time (since I had taken a certification for Nutrition and Wellness last year).
CanFitPro-Logo1This past Friday marked my final exam before the certification process was complete (hence the reason for no food Friday post, I was doing some last minute preparation).   The exam went well, I had brought my wonderful running/exercise buddy Susan with me to play the part of my “client” and we did great.  The nice part about the whole process is after you take your practical exam they don’t make you sweat it out for days, weeks or months, you get to sit down with your examiner and they tell you right away if you passed or failed.  Having found out I passed it felt like a load was lifted off my shoulders and I was ready for some celebrations with friends.

Friday evening post-exam was a blast, filled with good food, conversation and yes some celebratory drinks (mostly bubbly, it was a celebration after all).  After a great evening it was time to head home to rest up for a lazy Saturday.

Saturday was spent at home hiding from the cold and rain watching some movies with my husband, with me going away for a month I am trying to get in as much time as I possibly can with him. It was a great way to spend a cold rainy day.

Sunday started bright and early as per usual with a trip to the farmer’s market, followed by running some errands with my husband.  We are lucky here in Ottawa and the market stays open until mid-November, and then the same vendors have a “Christmas Market” where there are more crafters but the same baked good, meat, root vegetable, dairy, coffee, etc. vendors are there too for your grocery needs.  Although I will be missing the end half of the farmer’s market this year, I will hopefully be able to attend one of the Christmas Market weekends before I am forced back into a grocery store for the winter months.

Then that evening I ended by getting sucked into Sons of Anarchy on Netflix, which was awesome by the way, however I stayed up so much later than I actually should have and I am definitely paying for it today with my 5am wake-up call for work. Although I know it is my fault for making the decision to not make sleep a bigger priority I am going to blame this one of on Netflix for making it so darn tempting to just watch “one more” episode and before I know it I am binge watching TV series and going to bed at 1 in the morning. Despite the major lack of sleep I would say this weekend was definitely a successful one.

Now it is Monday and I am wrapping things up at work so that my absence from the office won’t be a big deal.

I hope you all had a great weekend and are having a wonderful Monday!

Leave a Reply

