Food Friday – Breakfast Muffins

The other week I was having a conversation with a friend of mine about her breakfast. She was not getting full off of her smoothies and cooking eggs every morning with a 15 month old child was kind of out the question for her. So it got me to thinking about what could be made ahead to grab and go on a hectic morning to help encourage serial breakfast skippers from missing their first meal of the day.

I mean there is granola, pre-packaged homemade oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, protein shakes and the list goes on but sometimes these items don’t hit the spot. So I figured I would take a crack at making a muffin. Now before I dive in here I feel like I need to share my opinion of muffins in general. I personally feel that muffins are just miniature cakes that people forgot to put icing on because the icing would well make it a cupcake.

Untitled

Sure yes there are healthy muffins out there but I am talking about the ones you are buying at Starbucks and Tim Hortons and basically any other prepared muffin, they aren’t great for you. So anyways I decided I would try and make a gluten free, refined sugar free, and oil free muffin. The first one turned out alright but I didn’t find it to be sweet or moist enough, luckily with just a couple tweaks I was able to find something that worked, was delicious and good for you.

Sweet Potato Breakfast Muffins
20130719-085526.jpg

Makes 12 muffins – 1 muffin per serving
Nutritional Information: 110.2 calories – 3.9g fat – 15.1g carbs – 3.6g fiber – 4.3g protein

1 cup Mashed Sweet Potato/ Yam (no butter or milk just the potato)
2 Bananas mashed
3 Eggs
1 tsp Vanilla
1 tsp Cinnamon
1/4 tsp Baking Soda
Pinch of Salt
1 cup oat flour
2 tbsp ground Chia Seeds
1/3 cup ground Flax Seed
1/3 cup Pumpkin Seed

  1. Preheat oven to 375.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, mix all wet ingredients together until smooth.
  3. In a separate bowl combine dry ingredients until combined, and then mix dry ingredients into the large mixing bowl with wet ingredients. Stir until well combined, about 2 minutes with an electric mixer.
  4. Line muffin tin with muffin liners. Fill muffin cups up about 3/4th of the way and pop them into the oven. They will cook for 25-30 minutes. Remove when a toothpick can be inserted into the middle and comes out clean.

I hope you enjoy these muffins  and they help to make your breakfasts and snacks a bit easier.  Pair them up with some protein and vola!

Happy Friday! I hope everyone enjoys the heat, and the weekend!

4 thoughts on “Food Friday – Breakfast Muffins

  1. Made these for Lila today with pumpkin instead of potato and without the seeds…thanks to suggestions from rachelle..thanks for posting the recipe!! 🙂

  2. These muffins are DELICIOUS! I had one this morning, and it definitely helped fill the void that i needed without feeling like i ate an entire cake for breakfast!

    Thanks for all your help!!!

Leave a Reply

