Food Time Fridays – Canada Day Addition

So for this installation of Food time Fridays I wanted to attempt to make something a little festive and summery. With Canada day just around the corner I wanted to attempt to represent in our national colours of Red and White.

So after some thinking about how to make something red and white that wasn’t a cookie or a cake I decided to go with salad. Now I LOVE watermelon, like completely love them. I could most likely eat an entire watermelon to myself in one sitting. I would probably feel ill in the end but I guarantee you it would be worth it. With my love of watermelon making a salad with it as the main ingredient was just the natural progression.

So I hope you like it as much as we did…the flavours sound like they are going to be weird together, and they are but in the most delicious way.

Feta & Watermelon Salad:

We do run run

Serves 4

2 lbs cubed Watermelon
1/2 cup Feta
1 tbsp chopped fresh Basil
1.5 tsp Olive Oil
1.5 tsp Balsamic Vinegar

1. Mix watermelon, feta and basil together in a large bowl.
2. In a small container place the oil and vinegar and shake until combined.
3. If serving immediately pour vinaigrette over salad and toss. If not keep separate until ready to serve.
4. Serve and enjoy.

Happy Friday and I hope you all have incredible long weekends if you are getting them!

3 thoughts on “Food Time Fridays – Canada Day Addition

  1. Pingback: Food Friday – Summer Eats | gingersneezes

  2. Your love for watermelon sounds like my love for most fruit…. strawberries… cherries…. nectarines/peaches…. clementines…. watermelon…. grapefruit… plums… mangoes… pinneapple…. apples…
    i seriously go through phases of only wanting to eat that fruit when in season. It ends with lots of belly aches…
    I’ll have to give this salad a try!

Leave a Reply

