My Transformation…nah My Education

_DSC0141

Today is the 50th day of the Gingersneezes Eats Clean challenge and I hope you have all loved the challenge and have had the opportunity to learn a lot about yourselves.  I have really appreciated in how much it helped me learn a bit more about myself and about what I am capable of, especially in the “eating on weekends” department.  Before the challenge weekend eating was a bit of a gong show for me.  My healthy week time diet generally flew out the window and full blown laziness set in.  The challenge has helped me to learn that I have a lot more time than I used to think, and mainly that eating healthy and preparing healthy meals really isn’t as big of a hassle as I used to think it was.

_DSC0141

I know I am probably sounding like a broken record but the challenge has been so amazing for me and I really hope that it has been as refreshing, motivating and positive for everyone else who had decided to participate.  If you are interested in finding out a bit more about how I felt about this challenge and what I learnt check out my post of lessons learnt.

The past 50 days have been integral to my growth and understanding of health and fitness.  I have mentioned before (one,two and three) how I started my journey and with the help of this challenge and encouragement from many loving friends/family, my amazing trainer and all of my wonderful readers I have decided to do something that has terrified me since I started this blog.  I decided it was time for me to share my starting or “before” photo and my current self or “after” photo.

For a long time I haven’t felt like sharing a photo like this because, well besides being completely intimidated I haven’t felt like there was such a big difference in how I looked a year ago to how I look now. I definitely feel different, I am happier, I have more energy, and I sleep better but it never 100% sunk in for me when it came to my look.   When I actually took the time to compare two photos and it hit me, I guess you don’t really see all the small or big changes when you look at yourself in the mirror every day.

Sometimes it takes you taking a step back to realize that “holy crap I have come a long way“.  Now I know I have put in a lot of hard work, I know I have made a lot of positive life changes, and I know that on a daily basis I decide to do what I can to be a happy, healthy, helpful and balanced individual but sometimes it takes the visual to see just how much hard work you have put in.

So if you are starting a journey to build a happier, healthier, more balanced self I strongly recommend taking a starting photo and tucking it away somewhere for future reference.  Take monthly progress pictures and compare them to remind yourself of all the good you are doing for yourself and all the effort you are putting into making yourself the best you that you can be. These pictures will help you in the downs and give you an even bigger boost on the ups.

before and after.I am sharing this photo to help motivate and encourage anyone who is thinking of or just starting their journey or maybe you are in the middle of it and hitting a rough patch. Just remember why you started and think of how you are feeling (more energy, better sleep, more positive outlook, etc.).  And remember to be proud of all of your accomplishments and to take time to acknowledge all of your hard work.

Happy Wednesday everyone! And congrats again to everyone on their last day of Gingersneezes Eats Clean!  Don’t forget to make an inspiration board and to write down some positive habits you want to continue once today is over. 

Leave a Reply

