Food Friday – smoothie wheel

With the helpful advice from some of the trainers at my gym yesterday I figured I would attack the age old question of “what do I put in my smoothie?” Now personally I kind of just toss in whatever I have on hand and it doesn’t necessarily have to mix, this can be a hit or miss type of situation so to save you all some trouble, don’t use arugula, keep that for your salads. Anyways….most of the time my toss in what I have method works, but sometimes I figured it is nice to have a recipe or at least a general idea of what tastes good.

So I figured I would share with you some concoctions. They each pretty much stick to my pattern of 4 main ingredient categories leafy greens, fruits, liquids and proteins. After I make the base I often add in additional things normally for nutritional value over taste, but sometimes they amp up the delicious flavours too. 

_DSC0141

*please note that almond milk and various nut butters are obvious liquid and protein sources but personally I would never use them due to my allergy to tree nuts so I have omitted them. 

When making a smoothie my portions are generally 1 for leafy greens, 2-3 from the fruit, 1 liquid, and 1 protein and then whatever swayed me in the way of extras.  Here are some combos that I have found particularly delicious.

Green Monster:

1 small green apple (granny smith)
1 hand full of spinach
1 kiwi
1 tbsp flax
1 scoop vanilla protein powder
1 cup water

Tropical Blast:

1/4 cup pineapple pieces
1/4 of a mango diced
1 handful of spinach or swiss chard
1 cup soy milk
Shredded coconut
1 tbsp chia seeds
1 scoop vanilla whey (you could sub this out for 1/4 cup greek yogurt)

Chocolate Dipped Berries:

1/4 cup blueberries
1/4 cup raspberries
2-3 strawberries (chopped)
1 handful of spinach or kale
1 cup water
1 scoop chocolate protein powder
1 tbsp cacao powder
1 tbsp chia seeds

Breakfast in a Cup:

1/2 banana
3-4 Strawberries
1/4 cup oatmeal
1 tbsp all natural Peanut Butter
1 cup soy or rice milk
1 tbsp chia seeds
1 tsp cinnamon

For each of the above recipes put all the ingredients and blend until smooth.  Pour into a glass and enjoy. Personally I love smoothies for breakfast, but they are also great in the middle of the day or as a quick meal after the gym.

They are also so easy to make I find them a fun way to test out new flavour combinations, so give it a try, get creative and see if you can’t find something amazing! If you have a favourite smoothie combo share it below I am always looking for new flavour combinations.

Happy Friday Everyone!

*note: just so you aren’t shocked when it happens, the leafy greens will turn your smoothie a shade of green. Don’t be alarmed, it just means it will be even more delicious. 

3 thoughts on “Food Friday – smoothie wheel

  1. Pingback: Food Friday – Summer Eats | gingersneezes

  2. Love this — it’s been a while since I’ve done smoothies in the morning.
    Definitely going to try out all of these tasty looking recipes!!
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

