Struggling

This is going to be a short post. Kind of more like a rant than a post but I hope someone out there can relate I feel like I am going batty. The past couple days (okay it has been over a week) I have been struggling with respecting injury and as of this past weekend illness (just a cold). I know I have mentioned before how important it is to listen to your body and to remember to take breaks and relax when you need to but for me it is likely the most challenging part of my fitness journey.

Relaxing and taking it easy or recovering always seems to feel somewhat counter productive to what I am trying to achieve. I want to build this healthy, fit, active lifestyle and resting and relaxing is a puzzle piece that just doesn’t seem to make much sense to me. I for some reason seem to feel like there should be a designated time or place for such a luxury.

DR3Like a beach vacation or a trip to a cottage, those are designated relax times.Times like now when I am in the downward phase of my training for a race (um…this weekend) taking some rest to recover just feels so innately wrong. So making myself sit back and relax/ do nothing becomes a huge inner struggle. Luckily I have a great husband, good friends, and an amazing trainer to keep my ego in check (I am assuming it is my ego that is making me so thick headed when it comes to this type of stuff.)

So what am I doing? not much to be honest. I am doing my rehab moves to help strengthen my ankle and build up some more stability and I am stretching. I know these are essential components to healthy training but sometimes I get this “if you don’t sweat it doesn’t count” mentality. So I am doing my best to respect my injuries and my sickness and I am learning how to take a step back, which by the way is surprisingly difficult. I am hoping that soon enough I will be able to acknowledge that rest is just as important as physical exercising when it comes to training so that I can learn how to properly integrate it properly in the future.

Have you ever had to deal with something like this? How do you find balance between rest and training?

I hope everyone is having a great Wednesday!

4 thoughts on “Struggling

  1. There are always two components to fitness- one is loud and obvious (the actual exercise component) and the other is the recovery (which can sometimes seem only a mere whisper compared to the sweaty, grunty exercise component). Although these two are seemingly polar opposites, they work together perfectly and it is imperative that you value one just as much as the other. Without recovery, people burn-out, get injured, or develop a hate for exercise. It might take time and practice to view the recovery period with the same importance you place on exercise, but you’ll know once you come out of that recovery phase that it was much needed and your body will thank you for it! Use the recovery period to focus on other aspects of your health (WHICH ARE JUST AS IMPORTANT AS EXERCISE): work on nutrition, take time to reflect on what you are grateful for, make a list of things that make you happy, spend time with family and friends, stretch and foam roll, let your body restore itself and you will come back stronger than ever!

    Keep it up girl, and remind yourself every day that you are doing something good for your body and mind! 🙂

  2. This is such an interesting post because I think that for most people (myself included), they face the opposite balancing act. You are fighting with yourself to make sure that you rest, where many others fight with themselves to ensure that they excercise/train. The same way I force myself to get up and get moving (as it hasn’t become my habit yet … “yet” being the key word), I think you just have to keep forcing yourself to listen and take the break. Just because you take a break for 2 weeks, it doesn’t mean it will un-do everything you’ve worked up to!

    • Yes you are a voice of reason I know it wot derail me it is just going against some of the habits I have worked at developing. Don’t worry soon enough you will be struggling with the same feelings hahah 🙂

Leave a Reply

