Weekend Round Up

This weekend was a bit of a mixed bag. It was great in that I got to see a bunch of friends, and their rapidly growing babies and it kind of sucked in that I was sick and had spent most of it resting, with intermittent dog walks (I got to babysit this weekend – just look at his face!).

20130520-085136.jpg

So instead of harping on how awful I have been feeling and how many echinacea, garlic and vitamin D pills I have been taking I figured I will focus on the happy fun things that I participated in this weekend instead.

So for some weeks now my running buddy, Susan and I have been planning a lady’s party in the form of a tea party. We planned the menu in accordance with the Gingersneezes Clean Eating challenge and made sure to have loads of flowers, and cute little rustic decorations to really bring it all together.

The tea party was a great hit, and we seriously couldn’t have asked for nicer weather. Originally the event was planned for indoors but when the Weather Network was forecasting 25 degrees and sunny we moved the party outside. Besides a lack of shade it was great and we all had a chance to bask in the glory of the sun, while we sipped on naturally infused water and tea, and ate a host of delicious finger foods.

Tea Party Decor Collage

We made small jars of raw jam for everyone as a parting favour, and their tiny little containers were just so adorable and went with our rustic theme so well. DSC_0327

The guests were all happily surprised to find out that all of the food was acceptable for the Gingersneezes Clean Eating challenge, as well as encouraged about how tasty the food was.

Tea party food Collage

Just a little note the chocolate moose is made with organic non-GMO silken tofu, and those deviled eggs are actually made with hummus not with mayo, both are super tasty snacks packed with protein and low in calories. 

After the tea party we quickly cleaned up and I promptly passed out from exhaustion. Even with taking some DayQuil to make it through the event my body was in a full out revolt and it was time for me to get on the couch and not move for the rest of the day.

My Sunday was much of the same, after a brief trip to the farmer’s market in the morning for some groceries I was quarantined to the couch. With my 10km race coming up in less than a week I figured it was time to rest this body up, so I am respecting my body’s wishes for some rest and doing my best to slow down and listen to what it has to say.

Considering today is still a part of the long weekend I hope you are all still enjoying your long weekend! and Happy Monday!

PS. Don’t forget to go and sign up for the Gingersneezes Giveaway, the contest ends this Thursday!

 

One thought on “Weekend Round Up

  1. Pingback: Food Time Friday – Flavoured Cheese | gingersneezes

Leave a Reply

