Food Friday – PB Banana Oat “Cookies”

So today is Day 3 in our Gingersneezes Eats Clean challenge and I hope it is going well for everyone. Depending on what your eating habits were prior to starting this challenge you might be feeling some sugar withdraws which probably aren’t super fun, but stick with it and soon they will pass I promise.

Personally I find the first 4-7 days the most difficult during of a challenge or a cleanse or a new way of eating. I always find it is during those days that I just want to call it what it is and maybe you know “start again next Monday”. Part of what I find so amazing about clean eating is that I rarely get this feeling, because I am not being deprived of anything. So if you are feeling deprived what I recommend is writing out what you are really missing, and then just doing some quick research to see how you could make yourself a clean version of that. There are options out there for everything, so if you want something sweet, salty, crunchy, warm, filling there is a clean eating option out there for you. It might take a bit more work than opening a box but just think how much more delicious it will be if you make it with your own hands.

For the past week, I have been dealing with some stomach/abdominal issues so I haven’t been able to eat much but yesterday I started feeling like I wanted something sweet and not just another apple, so instead of breaking and getting a chocolate bar I made some delicious PB Banana Oat cookies. I had been seeing banana oat cookies floating around the blogosphere for a while and I decided to give them ago seeing my stomach had been handling bananas pretty well. These are so easy and naturally flavoured.

PB Banana Oat Cookies
Makes 15-20 cookies

20130501-050918.jpg

3 Ripe Bananas mashed
2 cups rolled oats
2 tbsp Natural Peanut Butter

1. Preheat oven to 350 degree.
2. In a large bowl mash bananas until smooth, add in 2 cups of rolled oats and stir until mixed. Add in peanut butter and stir until combined.
3. Using two spoons scoop mixture and fold into balls. Place on sheet about 1/2 inch apart, the cookies won’t grow. If you are worried about sticking spray the pan with some olive oil or use coconut oil to coat the bottom. I didn’t use any oil and the cookies came off the baking sheet just fine.
4. Place in pre-heated oven for 15-20 minutes until they firm up.

I hope these help to satisfy your sweet tooth if you are having a bit of a snack attack. Let me know what your cravings are, and how you are coping with them. If you need ideas I am always here to help.

Happy Friday everyone!

Leave a Reply

