And They’re Gone

So yesterday was the day. The day that I donated all of my clothing. Okay not all of it was just adding a bit of dramatic flare but my closet and dresser drawers sure do feel and look pretty empty.

Yesterday evening I had some girlfriends come over for first pick at the clothing I would be donating, I figured it would be easier to see some of my prized possessions go to good homes than it would to see them all tossed into a garbage bag to await pick up. And it was, as hard as it was to say good bye to some great pieces of clothing, it also felt good.

Sure donating and helping others always feels great but this was different. The epic purge from my wardrobe was cathartic, by the end of the two hours of me sorting through my clothing making a keep and give pile I felt renewed. Lighter, happier, and it was all a little freeing. These articles of clothing had served me well but I am now at a point where they would be doing nothing but holding me back from realizing and appreciating all the hard work I have put in to date.

The whole process felt almost like a right of passage. It kind of felt like the best shopping trip ever. It was an experience where everything was either to big or fit perfectly, there was no soul crushing trying to squeeze yourself into that pair of pants you want business. So although my wardrobe was thinning out I got a bit of a confidence boost.

20130409-054026.jpg

When it was all said and done I had two clothing baskets full and I was proud that I was able to stay on course and not weaver when faced with some of my favorite pieces of clothing.

And now for the fun part I get to rebuild my closet!!

Happy Tuesday. What have you done for yourself latey?

2 thoughts on “And They’re Gone

Leave a Reply

