A Weekend in Review

This weekend was a great one. The perfect balance of lounging around, running around, and sweating. I was going to start my weekend out with a nice long run on Friday but due to switching up my workout program at the gym my legs were more sore than normal. I know that every time I change programs/ start a new phase I whine about how much my muscles hurt, but this time I seriously wasn’t prepared.

I just finished the six month cycle workout program at my gym and I was starting back on phase one again so I figured it would be a breeze. What I hadn’t thought of was that for the past 3 months I have been doing high weight low rep workouts, and the first phase in the training program is conditioning which is low weight high rep. I figured it would be a walk in the park because it was low weight, but adding another 10 reps per exercise destroyed me (in a good way of course). It is funny how fast your body can adapt to something and forget how to do something else. Every time had to count up to 15 I remember thinking “what is this cardio?”. All of this aside two days after my workout my legs felt like it was the first time I had ever worked them out in life. It is great to know there will always be room for improvement when working out, and as long as I keep switching it up, my muscles will continue to respond.

So I started my weekend out with a rest day, full of foam rolling and stretching followed by going to meet some friend’s new baby girl. She is still brand new so she did a lot of being adorable while being completely passed out. She did wake up for a bit and let us see her eyes, which is always a treat when they are so young. Shortly after our quick visit it was time to investigate cameras.
photo 4 (1)For the past little while I have been researching cameras so that the quality of photos on this blog can get a bit better and so I have something to take pictures while in Costa Rica in November. So watch out readers the photos are about to start getting much better! Thank you for being so patient for so long.

The rest of my weekend was spent doing some running around with a girlfriend and getting some crafts and a wonderfully vegetable packed meal Saturday evening. To keep our Saturday healthy and light we decided to have a delicious kale salad, with grilled portobello mushrooms for my girlfriend and some grilled chicken for me. After many attempts and failures at kale salads I think this one was definitely a winner, a delicious winner.
photo 3 (1)This weekend also gave me a chance to get started on my Yoga for Runner’s book my dad gave me for my birthday. So far the book has been pretty great, when I get books like this I like to read them through instead of just jumping to the stretches, I feel like it gives me a good background to properly understand where the author is coming from, and why certain yoga poses have been selected.
photo 1 (1)Then I finished the weekend off with a nice 4 mile run Sunday morning, that finished right as some rain started to roll in. It was a fantastic run, and it is always so nice to see so many other runners out. This time of year on the canal is always so much fun because there aren’t many bikers or rollerbladers and it feels like the whole canal belongs to the runners of Ottawa.

Now it is back to ol’grind stone for the week and finishing sorting through my wardrobe to pick out the pieces that no longer fit me to find them good homes.

Happy Monday Everyone! I hope you are all ready for some sun and warmth today!

11 thoughts on “A Weekend in Review

  1. Just want to say your article is as astounding.
    The clarity for your post is simply spectacular and
    that i can suppose you’re a professional
    in this subject. Fine along with your permission let me to clutch your feed to stay up to date with
    impending post. Thanks a million and please continue the gratifying
    work.

  2. Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading it, you may be a great author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back someday. I want to encourage yourself to continue your great job, have a nice evening!

  3. Hey! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a team of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog provided us useful information to work on. You have done a
    extraordinary job!

  4. Heya i am for the primary time here. I came across this board and
    I to find It truly useful & it helped me out much.
    I’m hoping to present something back and help others such as you helped me.

  5. We stumbled over here from a different website and thought
    I might as well check things out. I like what I see so now
    i’m following you. Look forward to looking into your web page yet again.

  6. Hey! This is kind of off topic but I need some help from an
    established blog. Is it tough to set up your own blog?
    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Cheers

    • Hey a great place to start is WordPress super easy to use and very intuitive. They also have great tutorials if you need them. Besides that keep reading other blogs it will help you find out what you like and what you don’t when it comes to appearance.

Leave a Reply

