Weekend Update – Running, Yoga , Friends and The Gym

This past weekend was great, filled with exercise, some rest, and friends.  The weekend started out a little different than normally because my regular Friday personal training session was put off due to my bodying being slightly over exerted from trying to cram in too many sessions, runs and yoga practices before my husband and I go to visit some friends over Easter long weekend. Although it was different it was also kind of glorious to have the day off from exercise to just stretch and take care of my body.

The watch suggested it...I agreed.

The watch suggested it…I agreed.

The day off gave my muscles the chance to recharge a bit which was nice because Saturday morning was gorgeous and I was excited to lace up my shoes for a run first thing in the morning.  After my run I thought it might be a good idea to try a new Yin class at my yoga studio and boy am I ever happy I did!  It was probably one of the best Yin classes I have ever attended.   I often find that Yin is difficult for me because my mind wanders so much, but this class was a perfect blend of movement and restful stretching and I found it much easier to stay focused on my practice instead of having my mind wonder.

After yoga it was a mad dash home to have some lunch and get ready to head out to see Lucky Ron as a part of a friend’s birthday celebrations.  Lucky Ron is kind of a Johnny Cash cover guy but also does some of his own material.  It is normally a pretty great show (and free!). Personally I think it is the crowd at the Lucky Ron show that really makes it, most of the people there know the words, when to shout out and when to clap and stomp their feet, which makes it a great environment.

Trying to keep it a bit healthier this weekend I didn’t attend the dinner festivities at one of the local pubs but instead ducked out and headed home for the evening.  On the way home I stopped off at a store called Road Trip to check out some jeans they had just received and I got suckered into buying some more Happy Socks. Over the years these socks have become an obsession of mine.

I love these socks! They really do make me happy.

I love these socks!

After Lucky Ron, and some sock purchases I settled in for a quiet and relaxing evening, when I have personal training in the morning I don’t like doing anything too crazy the night before because it makes the training that much more challenging and it is pretty challenging to being with so I don’t see the point in adding in additional unnecessary challenges.

Sunday I woke up to a bit of a surprise, a wonderful hive wrapped around my ankle but I wasn’t going to let that stop me from hitting the gym and besides it being terribly itchy it wasn’t too much of a hassle.  So off I went to the gym for a great workout. I think the more I do it the more I seriously enjoy working out Sunday mornings.  No matter what you are doing it always seems to be so much more peaceful, the gym isn’t as busy, roads are less crowded for running, even the yoga studio doesn’t seem as busy.

6 months

With the gym being a bit more peaceful Alannah and I decided it would be a great day to take some photos.  As we went through our session Alannah would grab my phone and snap some shots of me working out here and there.  Funny thing about lifting weights you are so focused on your form and not hurting yourself that you don’t really notice what you look like while you are doing it.  I find it so interesting to see photos of myself working out because it always looks a bit different from what I had pictured it in my head.

Getting JackedWorking it

That pretty much wraps up my weekend.  Now I am just nursing the left over hives that decided to attack my ankle, hoping they just decide to go away really soon so I can go out for a run this evening.

I hope everyone else had a fabulous weekend, and is looking forward to a nice long Easter weekend. 

How did you spend your weekend?

Leave a Reply

