Food Time Friday – Birthday Edition

Hello folks today is my birthday AND more importantly it is International Women’s Day!!! Every year I feel so lucky to have the chance to share my birthday with the celebration of women everywhere. If you haven’t been grateful, thankful or otherwise positive towards a lady today maybe just take a minute to do so and if you are a lady I hope today is a bit of a reminder to all of us to support one another with positivity, love and compassion.
tumblr_m0kvlehwjS1r09zijo1_500So today is my birthday and you might all be thinking I am taking a vacation from things, and all I have to say to that is I WISH! I am not giving myself any breaks. I will be hitting the gym up like any regular Friday and I strongly doubt Alannah will be easier on me just because I am getting older. I actually think it will be nice to have a little sweat session at the gym in celebration of getting older and to remind myself of just how far I have come on this health, fitness and happiness journey of mine. Although I am looking forward to the gym, I don’t think the same can be said for heading to the office. Is it just me or do you agree that we should get a floating vacation day to be used on our birthdays, I mean how awesome would that be?

All that being said, today is still Food Time Friday and intend to bring you some tasty healthy treats. Well this week it isn’t so much of a treat as it is a great brunch or breakfast. You can prepare everything before hand and then just pop it in the oven in the morning and easy fuss free brunch/breakfast is served.

Broccoli and Turkey Sausage Oven Omelette

Serves 6

1/3 cup egg whites
5 eggs
1 cup steamed broccoli, finely chopped
3 green onions
½ sweet potato baked and diced
4 turkey sausages cooked and diced
Dash of soy milk (can use skim if you prefer)
Coconut oil (about a tsp)

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Place whole sweet potato on a baking sheet and cook for 40-45 minutes. In the last 30 minutes of cooking the sweet potato add in the turkey sausage and bake through.
2.Once sweet potato and turkey sausage are fully cooked remove from oven and allow to cool. Turn oven down to 350.
3.In a medium sized bowl mix eggs, egg whites and soy milk together until blended. Season with salt and pepper.
4.Chop green onions, broccoli, sweet potato and turkey sausage.
5.Put some coconut oil on a paper towel and grease a casserole dish, to limit the amount of sticking that will occur. Once the dish is greased place onions, broccoli, sweet potato and turkey sausage in the dish and pour egg mixture over top. If you need to stir the dish to make sure everything is coated in egg.
6.Cook oven omelette for approximately 35-40minutes. You know it is done when you shake it and the egg doesn’t move.
7. Serve with a side of salad.

I hope everyone has a great day today. Happy Friday!

7 thoughts on “Food Time Friday – Birthday Edition

  1. Pingback: gingersneezes

  2. Looks super tasty!!! Definitely want to try this!
    How does it taste when it comes to leftovers? I guess you would just nuke it to reheat??

    • you could use any type of oil. It is really just to grease the pan so whatever your preference is (olive oil, butter, etc), my preference is just coconut oil I like the taste and the health benefits, also it is a great dairy free option for me.

      thanks for the birthday wishes 🙂

Leave a Reply

