Weekend Round Up and Running Apps

Today is one of those Mondays, unfortunately for me, that I am not quite ready for the weekend to be over. I had one of those nights where I woke up almost every hour and checked my alarm clock. Why I do this to myself I am not sure, but it was frustrating none the less. But alas Mondays are inevitable so I might as well make the most of it.
weatherI have been checking the weather network like a crazy person these past couple of days. After going outside for a run the other day I have become a woman obsessed I mean sure I could go and run outside in the super cold, slushy, sloppy weather but personally I would prefer not to. So around this time of year I start to get a little stir crazy waiting for the sidewalks to be mostly snow/puddle free and it to be just a bit closer to the zero mark weather wise. I think the running gods have heard my pleas and this week is supposed to warm up just a little bit, hovering just a bit above or a bit below zero, and it isn’t supposed to snow…not at least for another couple of days. So I am really hoping to get a nice long outdoor run in this week.

While I am waiting for the weather to get more spring/summer like I have been trying to spice up my indoor treadmill or elliptical workouts by using intervals. At first I was mostly just hopefully that it would help to break some of the boredom but now I am 100% sold. Generally speaking I prefer to have a gym partner if I am going to be running on a treadmill for more than 20 minutes. 20 minutes is a bit of a weird cut off I guess, but that’s just where my brain can’t take it anymore, it knows I am running in place and the whole idea of running just starts to feel impossible. So normally it is easier to have someone there to encourage me a little and to assure me that this too will end and I will feel better if I don’t give up.

Although a gym buddy is my preference for long treadmill runs it isn’t always something that can happen. With my gym buddy out of town for the weekend I decided I was going to attempt to do a 45 minute treadmill workout and see if I could actually finish it. Knowing that I couldn’t just do a straight run (it literally makes me want to pluck my eyes out) I went on good ol’Pinetrest and found a great interval workout. It was a mix of hills, speed, and some jogging. To my surprise and excitement the whole thing was over before I had a chance to get bored. It was quite exciting really, so now I know if I want to stay on a cardio machine for a reasonable amount of time, it is all about switching up the pace, however I will still leave my long distance runs for the outdoors.

zombie CollageAnother reason for my running excitement has to do with me finally purchasing the Zombie Run app, and I can’t describe to you how excited I am to test it out. The app is originally about $8, which to be honest I think is a little crazy, but this weekend it was 50% off so I jumped on the chance to download it. Basically the app is set up a bit like an interactive video game. On your runs they have people that talk to you and explain your “missions”, while running you pick up supplies and various tools for surviving a zombie apocalypse. You can also put it on a “chase” mode so you have to increase your speed to out run the zombies, so basically some interval speed training, but made into a game. The app also has a function so you can use it on stationary equipment so you don’t actually need to be running outside for it to work. Once I test it out I will provide you all with a full review, I hope it lives up to my expectations.

Aside from these running highlights my weekend was filled with tea with girlfriends, supper with friends and some vegging around the house with my husband. All in all it was a pretty great weekend with the perfect mix of activity and inactivity, probably why I was so sad to see it go.

I hope you have all had a great weekend and Monday isn’t being too cruel to you. Have a great day!

One thought on “Weekend Round Up and Running Apps

  1. Pingback: Running App In Review | gingersneezes

Leave a Reply

