Let’s Get Physical

After a particularly rigorous workout with Alannah yesterday (I had my butt handed to me) I thought it might be nice to share the pain and sweat with all of you wonderful readers. I have received a couple of requests to share some of what I do at the gym with everyone. Although this isn’t something I normally do at the gym it is an amazing workout that Alannah had made up for me over the holidays. I wasn’t sure what type of equipment I would have available, when the local gym would be open, or even if I would be able to make it out to the gym because well it was the holidays and I was squeezing in as much family time as I could. Keeping all of this in mind Alannah made me a kick butt body weight circuit that I could do at my brother’s house.

Although this isn’t a part of my regular routine it is something I have gone back to a couple of times normally when I am feeling like I am being overly lazy or I’m restless and it definitely helped to kick my butt at least once over my holidays in Alberta.

So basically if you are looking to do something at home, with no weights and to get a pretty decent sweat on I would strongly recommend giving this circuit a try, it can obviously also be done at the gym.

Each exercise lasts 30 seconds (if it is divided up per leg, it is 30 seconds on each leg) and each circuit is performed 3 times, seeing it is a timed circuit workout remember form is key, but try and crank out as many reps as you can, basically just don’t stop moving. It should take about 45-50 minutes. Be sure to warm up before you get into it, and always stretch at the end, trust me you don’t want to forget to stretch after doing all of those squats and lunges.

circuit workout

Most of the exercises are pretty standard, the two I thought that might be a bit tricky are the anterior reach and the shoulder external rotation. So I have provided some links for you. For the shoulder external rotation I would recommend doing it without any weights, contrary to the video, you might feel a little silly doing it but after a while you will definitely feel it. The first time I did this exercise it was weird because it felt like I was discovering all new muscles. If you do choose to do this exercise with a weight I would recommend using something super light, a lot of weight seriously isn’t needed.

I hope you try it out! Let me know how you like it in the comments below.

Happy Thursday Everyone!!!

*note: Always be sure you are in the good physical condition before trying something out, always stretch and take breaks when you need them, you don’t want to hurt yourself.

2 thoughts on “Let’s Get Physical

  1. The parts of that circuit that you would do one side at a time, would you alternate each side? Like would you do a lunge on each side? Or 30 seconds of lunges on one side, and then 30 seconds on the other?

Leave a Reply

