Big Goals

I think we have all done this at one time or another, made the sweeping declaration that “this year I will wear _____ and feeling good in it”. The word that always fills in the blank with is bikini and generally this statement has something to do with going to a beach. Normally without fail year after year I tell myself and my husband that “this is the year! I am going to rock a bikini”. Then every year without fail I am 14 days from the date I need to be strutting my stuff in a bikini and I am nowhere near where I want to be/ nowhere near as confident as I thought I would be.
Yellow-Polka-Dot-Bikini-ClipartThis past year has been slightly different. About 6 months ago I made my declaration to be beach ready after purchasing some tickets for a vacation down south, but this time around something clicked. I became committed to my runs, my workouts and my yoga, I started craving less greasy and cheesy (that one is still hard to be honest) foods, but most importantly I had reached out for help.

I signed my friend Susan up to be my running partner, snaking into the running routine, I enlisted the help of a personal trainer, and I got my husband on board to make sure I make it out to my yoga classes. It was after enlisting all of this help that I realized something, in the past I had focused on nutrition OR I had focused on fitness, but it always seemed too overwhelming to focus on both at the same time. Once I had taken some of the load off, by creating a support network taking on both nutrition and fitness didn’t seem so daunting.

Then on top of all of this, I actually stayed on track with progress pictures. Holy what a motivator! We all have days where no matter how healthy we are eating, how many calories we are burning, and how active we are being nothing feels “right”. It feels like all your shirts are too tight, your pants are going to burst and all of a sudden you need a new wardrobe, and this is where I found progress pictures to be key. On days where you might be lacking motivation and wondering “Why the heck am I doing all of this anyways it isn’t paying off?” just take out those pictures and show yourself just how far you have come. Not only have these pictures helped to get rid of some of my own self doubt they have provided me with some extra determination to keep going because I can see that I am definitely getting to where I want to be.

I now have 19 days left until I am on the beach burning my ultra pale skin (I am a red head I have two colours bright white and lobster red) and I think I am right on track to be rockin’ it on the beach. I think the best part about where I am right now, is that I know I am about about to accomplish one of the larger goals I had set out for myself 6 months ago. I mean the over arching goal has always been just to get fit and be healthy but I have found that mini timed goals throughout the year has helped to give me little burst of energy and motivation when I seem to need it the most.

Happy Tuesday Everyone!

What types of things keep you motivated? What are some of your long term and short term goals?

Leave a Reply

