Pasta and Some Healthy Competition

After skipping a week I wanted to make sure I shared something tasty and delicious with you. But before I get into that I wanted to give a brief Epic Fitness training update.

Epic has recently posted a records board (I am not sure what to call it), to record personal bests and to encourage a little healthy and safe competition not only amongst their trainers but also within the client community. There is everything from deadlifts, incline bench press, this crazy turbo fire leg thing (what it is called completely escapes me, I just know it made me want to fold over afterwards), grip strength, and skipping. It is kind of fun to come in and get to see the new names, times, weights and reps on the board and to hear the fun banter between trainers encouraging each other to push it and try something they haven’t before.

On Sunday my trainer, Alannah, and I decided that we should attempt to go for some of the records, perhaps to fill in some of the blanks and see what comes of it. It has been really fun, some of the stuff on the board is already worked into my regular routine but other things like the “turbo fire leg thing” (when I find out what this is called I will share, promise), and learning how to do double unders has been a fun new challenge to shake things up a bit in my regular routine. So besides getting to try out new exercises and see what this ol’body is capable of, I have also managed to set a record, and got my name up in beautiful yellow letters on the board. I made the board for the incline bench press, holding 30s in both hands. I was personally pretty impressed with myself as it was a step up in weight, and I was able to more or less maintain the reps I had been doing with lower weights, so now we wait and see how long it stays up before someone beats it.

So now onto food. This week in food I figured comfort food might be a good choice, and seeing how two weeks ago I made army sized amounts of lasagna I would share this recipe with you. The recipe is a rendition of one my step-dad used to make for me as a kid all the time, I just added in and subtracted out a couple of things to make it a bit more healthful without losing any of the super delicious flavours.

Secret Veggie Lasagna

il_570xN.287509992
Makes: 4 large pans of Lasagna

2 boxes whole wheat lasagna noodles
3 lbs extra lean ground beef (bison and elk would also be delicious)
5 jars low sodium tomato basil sauce
5 green peppers
1 head of broccoli (roughly 2 cups)
1 medium yellow onion
1 medium red onion
4 cloves of garlic crushed
3
tomatoes diced finely
1 1/2 tbsp
red pepper flakes
2 tbsp
Italiano spices
2 500g
packages of part skim mozzarella grated

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 400 degrees. Clean and coarsely chop the green bell peppers and broccoli. Layer the peppers and broccoli on a cooking sheet, place in pre-heated oven for 20-25 minuets until cooked.
  2. While veggies are roasting, dice onions, tomatoes and crush garlic. Add the onions to a large stock pot and allow them to begin cooking. After about 2 minutes add in the garlic and cook for another 2 minutes before adding in the diced tomato. Allow veggies to cook together for another 5 minutes before adding in the tomato sauce. Add in tomato sauce stir thoroughly. Turn the heat down to 3 or 4 depending on your elements.
  3. Remove peppers and broccoli from the oven and allow to cool for about 5 minutes. Once vegetables have cooled enough to be able to touch them, place them in a food processor and puree the vegetables. Once completely pureed add to the tomato sauce and stir well. Add in red pepper flakes and Italiano spices, stir and cover to simmer.
  4. While the sauce is simmering in a large frying pan cook the ground beef. Once beef is cooked add it to the tomato sauce. Before adding the beef to the tomato sauce be sure to drain any access grease from the pan.
  5. Cook noodles according to the package. Once noodles are cooked begin the layering process. It goes sauce, noodles, sauce, noodles, sauce, cheese. Seeing this makes 4 pretty large lasagnas if you are freezing some of them be sure to allow the whole dish to cool prior to adding the cheese or it will melt prematurely.
  6. If serving for dinner that night place in a 400 degree oven for 30-40 minutes. If cooking from frozen cook at 400 degrees for 45-60 minutes, until you can see the sauce bubbling. For both methods cook covered, only removing the cover for the last 15 minutes.

lasagna4

I hope everyone is as excited as I am that it is Friday. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

