Finally Breaking Free

After about two weeks of dragging my feet, feeling drained, and lacking motivation I had one heck of an amazing workout last night and I am starting to feel like mentally I am back on track! It was as though I came into the gym with a renewed sense of commitment and energy and it being arm day could have definitely helped out with that. I am not sure if I have mentioned this before but arm day is probably my favourite, the exercises are tough, but I also get to hulk out heavier weights then I ever have in the past and it makes me feel like a bit of a big deal. Yesterday’s session was definitely something to be super proud of, I felt like it was definitely a step in the right direction after a not so awesome Monday.    This morning’s arm pain is definite proof that I did something right during my workout.

This whole experience, whining, resisting and overall being a bit of a baby about working out has taught me a couple of things:

1. You can’t always expect every workout to be your best workout.  Sometimes you are going to be tired, stressed, not in the mood or otherwise resistant to your workout, but it is important to remember you get out of it what you put into it.

2. Sometimes it is important to do things that you really don’t want to do. Maybe you don’t want to go on that run, that 90 minute yoga class, or do 20 more incline pulls but you have to know that at the end of completing those things you will probably get an even larger sense of accomplishment because you pushed yourself.

3. It is okay to have a bad day, heck it is okay to have a bad week, but make sure you do what you can to work through it.  Talk it through with friends, your partner, or your parents, make sure you get it out and do your best to not let that bad feeling control everything, sometimes giving an extra effort to think of the positive is just what your mind and spirit need.

4. Remember you have a support system for a reason. Your support/motivation system (friends, personal trainers, and other enthusiasts) is there to help you out and push you to achieve your goals.

5. No matter what don’t give up on yourself.  Remember you are worth it!

I hope everyone is having a great Thursday, and those of you out West (I am looking at you Edmonton) are staying safe and warm!

As a little Thursday treat I figured I would share what blogging normally looks like for me.  With two cats it is pretty difficult to sit down in front of a computer without one of them on the keyboard or deciding that they own my arms.
photo (15)*please note the cat depicted in this photo is not actually sorry.
Happy Thursday!

One thought on “Finally Breaking Free

  1. Well please note that some in Edmonton are watching you too. That is when we aren’t outside doing our new work out. It is called snow shovelling to get your car out of the parkade. Over a foot of snow yesterday. Besides shovelling pushing those idiots who have not got winter tires yet out of parking lots……Oh I think that is me. By the way 10.75 km run is nothing to (ginger) sneeze at.

Leave a Reply

