Fall Food Friday

This past week I have been feeling a little under the weather so not too much experimenting happened in my kitchen.  On Sunday I did get some food prep ready for the week and I made a ratatouille, made some veggie stock, and roasted up some butternut squash.  All the prep I had done on the weekend really helped out for the week, it made thinking up suppers so much easier when I was feeling so gross, the roasted squash was probably the best, it provided me with some soup and salad.

While roasting the squash I was trying out something a little new where basically you just covered the squash in some ground chipotle pepper and onions, with a bit of oil and roasted them until they were done. It was a nice spicy twist on my regular oil and onions for roasting, it provided little extra kick to the dishes I used the squash in.

The butternut squash was from my mom’s garden and was large massive so I had enough to make two separate recipes.   As the internet is rampant in squash soup recipes I figured I would share the salad.   It turned out very nicely and it is definitely something that is going to be put into my regular fall and winter food rotation.

Butternut Squash & Basil Quinoa Salad:

butternut squash

6-8 Servings

1 cup Quinoa
1 cup Vegetable broth
1 cup diced roasted butternut squash
6 large Basil leaves finely diced
zest of 1 Lemon
2 tsp Lemon juice
1 tsp oil
1/2 cup low fat feta diced

  1. Rinse uncooked quinoa before cooking.  Place quinoa and vegetable broth in a pot and cook according to quinoa package.  (normally: heat until it begins to boil, and allow to cook until all broth has evaporated, stirring frequently).  Once quinoa is cooked remove and allow to cool.
  2. While quinoa is cooling dice roasted butternut squash, feta and slice basil and set aside.
  3. Juice and zest a lemon. Mix lemon juice, zest and oil together to create a dressing.
  4. Mix together cooked quinoa, basil, butternut squash, feta and dressing. Once thoroughly mixed it is ready to serve.

Happy Friday everyone! Hope you have a happy, healthy weekend! 

Leave a Reply

