Sweating out the Sick

Working out sick. To do it or not to do it? This is a question I was lucky enough to have the opportunity to wrestle with earlier this week. After consulting with some friends and advising my trainer that I was feeling a bit under the weather I decided I would give it a go and see how I was feeling as the workout progressed.  Lucky for me it was some more postural stuff focusing on legs, and I like to think my legs are the strong part of my body so I felt like it wouldn’t be too taxing on my system.

In general when I am ill (stuffed up cold level illness) I like to get a nice sweat going, it makes me feel like I am sweating out all the awful toxins, whether or not this is true I am unsure but in general a detox style bath normally makes me feel pretty good afterwards. So I figured getting my sweat on at the gym would probably hopefully present the same results.

Once I started to warm up I definitely felt a huge difference in being healthy and pedaling on the stationary bike, and being sick and doing so.  It took up a bit more energy to keep going, and the amount of sweat that started coming out was comparable to a hot yoga class.  So if the goal was to sweat out the sickness I was well on my way to succeeding.

I also noticed that besides sweating like a total beast it took a bit more energy to focus on the exercises I was doing and the instructions I was receiving.  I mean it is possible that more focus was required because of a low grade fever and the level of cold and sinus medicine I had taken throughout the day, but it was interesting how some of the easier things required me to think so much about simple mechanics.  By the end of the hour long workout I was totally physically and mentally drained, and I was definitely ready to resume my sleepy position on the couch snuggled under a comfy blanket with my cranberry juice and tea.

Through this experience what surprised me wasn’t that I was able to workout while feeling sick, but it was that I had no desire to skip my training session or stop my regular fitness routine.  Being sick actually frustrated me more than normal and not because my face felt like it was going to explode because I was so stuffed up, but because I felt like a wrench was being thrown into something I had been working so hard for.  So I am glad that I went to my training session even though we had to clean everything I touched.  That being said I am not sure if I would make the same decision the next time I get sick but it is something I will think about.  It is nice to know that I am capable of pushing through if I really want/need to.

I hope everyone is having a wonderful sickness free week so far. Happy Wednesday! 

*please note that I am not a doctor, or a trained professional the above is just my opinion and experience, please don’t take it as advice. 

 

Leave a Reply

