Feelin’ the Burn

Feeling a little hardcore yesterday my running buddy and I challenged each other to a treadmill running contest.  Basically just setting the treadmills for a 5k run and then seeing who could finish first.  We found out we are equally fast, I guess that is what happens when you train together.  Even though we tied it was nice to have that little extra competition to keep things interesting seeing the transition from outdoors to treadmill can be a little mind numbing.  After the run it was time for me to head on over to my personal training session to see what was in store for me.

So I have decided that I totally lack any semblance of coordination.  It is almost embarrassing how much I have to think of what I am doing when some coordination is involved.  What am I talking about? I am talking about this blasted ladder thing.  Actually it is called an agility ladder, I believe, and goodness for some plastic sticks and ribbon rope it feels next to impossible.

agility ladder

I think my problem is that as the name implies the exercises one would do with the agility ladder requires well agility.  Unfortunately for me it is something I am definitely lacking, I mean I own cats I don’t poses cat like traits.   All of that to say, I am pretty good at jumping in and out, the move is fairly reminiscent of hopscotch so basically my childhood prepared me for this move. I am sure I will eventually get better at it, but for now the bright yellow sticks of the agility ladder is just a touch intimidating.

Besides the dreaded agility ladder, which let’s face it really isn’t even that bad, I was so full of energy for my personal training session.   I felt like I was bouncing off the walls which probably didn’t help for my concentration levels, I felt a little all over the place, but at the same time I was so excited to be moving and sweating.  The hour session flew by and was over before I knew it; it felt almost as though it had gone by too quickly.

Have any of you ever found that time goes by too quickly sometimes when you are in a fitness class, or in some sort of training?

Happy Thursday everyone! Hope you are all bundled up today!

2 thoughts on “Feelin’ the Burn

  1. If you want to further test out your agility, go for an outdoor adventure course, like zip lining! It definitely tests your balance but you’re always strapped in so it’s safe. Also, it goes by SO fast and you want to do it again 🙂

Leave a Reply

