Cutting out the Meat

This past weekend was absolutely gorgeous. I ended up spending the majority of my time out in the sun, well shade really I am a ginger and the sun does terrible things to my skin. But just soaking up the soon to be ending summer here in Ottawa was wonderful. Saturday we ventured out near the local arboretum for an afternoon picnic and Sunday was primarily spent on the deck finishing up a book from my favourit author, Douglas Coupland.

Untitled It is just wonderful to find such a serene place in the middle of the city.

Untitled

Now it is back to work and back to reality, but I am so thankful for such a warm boiling weekend filled with sun.

So today marks the beginning of my third week of the plant based eating challenge. For the past two weeks I have been eating strictly vegetarian during the week, and attempting to push it to the vegan side of things. I have found it extremely difficult to cut out eggs, and the occasional dairy during the adventure.

About midway through my second week I basically decided that vegan just wasn’t going to happen for me. I enjoy my whey protein shakes, and my hard boiled eggs, so I accepted that vegetarian was probably as good as I could give, but have still made a strong effort to cut out as much dairy from my life as possible. Dairy reeks havoc on my insides so it is really something I should be avoiding as much as possible regardless of any challenge/experiment I am doing. Besides failing at the 100% plant based eating, cutting out meat 5 out of 7 days a week has been a breeze.

I haven’t so much missed meat as I have missed the convenience of knowing I am for sure getting the protein I need, and the lazy factor of not having to think about where I am getting my protein in each meal.

All and all it has been pretty simple and very delicious so far. I love vegetables so getting to eat more of them isn’t really a big deal for me, and this challenge has pushed me to consume more fruit so it has been win win. I haven’t noticed a drastic change in my energy levels, but my skin has cleared up and is less oily, my eczema seems to be seriously under control, with the occasional outbreak on the weekend when I am way more lax about what I am eating, and overall my stomach is felling way healthier.

The weekly trips to the farmers market have definitely helped to get me excited about making 100% of my meals vegetable based because the produce are so fresh and flavorful, and basically I can’t wait to eat them every week. I am excited to get started on week three, and to merge this into a permanent life style as much as possible. Although I love veggies, and I am very much enjoying eating like this I don’t believe I would ever 100% give up meat, I love fish and the occasional steak so I don’t think I would be willing to give that up full time.

Have any of you been vegetarian, or attempted to drastically cut out meat for health/environmental/ ethical/ any other reason?

Happy Monday! Hope you are all having a great start to your week!

Leave a Reply

