A Fall Filled with Running!

It is getting close to that time of year again, when my girlfriend and I lace up to hit the pavement for the Cure.  We began running for the CIBC Run for the Cure several years ago. My Grandma had been diagnosed with lung cancer which then spread to her brain and I thought it would be a great way to support her.  Unfortunately, my Grandma passed away before the race, but I still felt that running in her memory was the right thing to do.

With a group of girlfriends we all laced up and ran in support or memory of those affected by cancer regardless of the type.  I understand that the CIBC Run for the Cure is specific to breast cancer, but I still feel it is a great way to raise awareness around cancer periode.

For the past three years (this one will be our fourth) my girlfriend and I have kept our team going and have been raising money and awareness. We try and keep our team names positive and motivational and representative of us, so this year we went with Team Super Awesome. 

We do our best to match, sometimes even making our own team shirts and train together in order to seriously feel like have worked for the money we have raised for the run. Although, the team is normally just the two of us, and we take it pretty seriously others are always welcome to join, and as always if you are interested in contributing to the cause please visit our team page, the race isn’t until September 30th so there is lots of time to think it over. We are a small team but we are fierce!

We are both very excited this year and are preparing for our race with another fun run. The Graffiti Run has finally come to Ottawa and I couldn’t be more excited!!! For years now I have had a bit of an obsession with the India Colour Festival, which has nothing to do with running really, it is more of a celebration with so many amazing colours and photos of it are absolutely stunning.
holi

So based on these colour festivals a fun run has been going around in the USA for a while now, but no where close to my home town here in Canada. But this year, this is the year! It is a 5k run, and you are basically tie dyed from head to toe. In the race package they provide you with the regular swag – t-shirt, coupons, running stuff – but they also throw in one package of dye for you to participate in the colour bombing!

With so much to look forward to in September it is hard to sit still. Now I just have to find out a way to squeeze in some short runs with my on-going Insanity workouts and I will be golden!

Happy Wednesday Everyone!

Photo courtesy of Transparent Language

Leave a Reply

