Something’s Fishy

So as I had mentioned I started this whole Insanity business. To be honest I am normally not a workout in my living room type of gal. I always start get about two days in and then figure “yeah, I am fit enough I can just take a break today I mean I already worked out two days”. Just ask my 30 Day Shred, or my Yoga Booty Ballet DVDs they probably feel extremely neglected.

Insanity2(photo credit dvdstreets.com)

With Insanity so far so good though. I am only on day 5 but I have been stoked to get to it every day so far. To date my favourit day was the cardio recovery workout, which I don’t think is much of a surprise. The workouts are tough brutal, they seem nearly impossible at times, but I have really been enjoying the challenge. Today was Pure Cardio, and all I kept thinking was “who thought this was a good idea?” But now that the workout is completed I am stoked, full of energy and still sweating an hour later (gross I know, perhaps an over share?)

There are two things that came with the program that are really helping me to stay motivated so far the calendar that comes with the program, and the suggested meal plan. (Please note I haven’t gotten to the two week hump, which is when a lot of my routines end up going out the window…so stay tuned for my sentiments at the end of next week)

The calendar has been great for me because it tells me what to do and when. It also gives me that satisfaction of crossing off days. It is like a to do list, you get to see it become shorter and shorter, it just feels good. I enjoy this because there is no humming and hawing at 5am or 5pm about what muscle group to workout or what type of cardio activity I should engage in. Taking some of the thinking out it makes it that much easier to just jump into for me.

And the meal plan. Now I haven’t been strictly following it, but it has been great to give me ideas for balance. I have a tendency to do all or nothing when it comes to most things, so it is nice to have the guide to provide some direction on what to eat and the approximate nutritional information for said meals. That and a lot of the options in the book are completely delicious, I mean a BLT?!? How delicious is that? and normally something of that nature would have fallen into the “unhealthy don’t touch” category. So basically when feeling a bit discouraged about my food options the guide book has been helpful in lifting up my spirits and helping to show me that eating healthy doesn’t mean giving up delicious foods.

Enough about Insanity, lets get into some food I have made over the past couple of weeks. I have been attempting to increase the amount of white fish in my diet, normally I would reach for rainbow trout, salmon, or tuna (because to me they are the most delicious) but I have been trying to throw in some more tilapia into the mix. Normally I avoid fishes like tilapia because honestly I have a hard time making them taste like anything and it is extremely discouraging to me, but this week I found something that worked, was delicious, completely moist and still just as tasty and moist for lunch the next day.

Spicy Southern Tilapia:

(this recipe has been modified from a Whole Foods recipe)

4 Fillets of Tilapia (about 4-6 oz each)
1 tsp Garlic Powder
1 tsp Chili Powder
1/2 tsp Black Pepper
1 tsp Salt
1/4 tsp Cayenne Pepper
1 Lime cut into wedges
Olive Oil (I use a manual spray container, if you don’t have one PAM would work fine, or about 1tbsp of oil split in half).

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Line a cookie sheet with tin foil and spray with oil. If you don’t have PAM or a manual oil sprayer spread half of the Tbsp of oil over the tin foil.

On a plate mix together garlic powder, chili powder, black pepper, salt, and cayenne pepper together, spread it over the plate evenly. Coat both sides of the tilapia fillet in the spice mixture, then place on the cookie sheet.

Once all fillets have been coated spray the tops of the fillets lightly with oil, once again if you don’t have a sprayer evenly distribute the last half Tbsp of oil on the fillets.

Place the fillets in the oven and cook for 7 to 9 minutes. Plate and serve with a lime wedge.

This dish is great with some grilled summer squash, or green beans. It also goes great with a nice fresh salad.

If anyone is interested the oil sprayer (yes I am sure that is the technical term) I use, looks like the following:
414DPXEPJML._SL500_AA300_ It is great, and it feels nice to not be spraying my food with something that has been sealed up in an aerosol can. It works with any liquid oil, but I normally keep olive oil in it seeing that is what I use most of the time for cooking.

Happy Friday Everyone!!!! I hope you all have great plans for the weekend!

Leave a Reply

