Dreary April Showers

I am not sure if it is like this for everyone else, but the weather has a HUGE impact on my motivation levels. Regardless if the motivation is to get out of bed, focus on some work or actually get my butt moving for a good workout, the weather is a massive factor in my ability to self encourage.

On days where you wake up to snow, heavy fog, or what seems like never ending rain, it is really difficult to get going and to convince myself to workout. On those days I am extra grateful for working out in the mornings. 4:30am isn’t a time where you get reflective and start rationalizing yourself out of a workout, on the other hand 4:30pm turns into a never ending battle with myself to put on my shoes and brave the rain outside for a 5k run.

Perhaps at this point it would be good to provide some pointers on how I get myself moving on dreary days. Well unfortunately for everyone (especially myself) I don’t have tricks or tips. Normally if I am feeling unmotivated for a run I will buy myself a new pair of socks, but if you couple unmotivated with rain you can pretty much count me out.

The one thing I am able to do during these times is positive self talk (sound crazy I know). So basically I just try and give myself little nudges, and attempt to point out the positives which would come from committing to a workout even if it is raining out, this tends to work about 80% of the time. I mean we all know that after working out you feel great, renewed and happy, sometimes reminding yourself of that is enough to get you to take the first step.

What happens the other 20% of the time…well I generally let myself off the hook 20% of the time. I firmly believe in listening to your body (most of the time, sometimes it needs to be pushed), and I am all about finding a balance. It is just important to be able to see the difference between needing a rest (and letting yourself be okay with that rest) and just wanting or preferring to be lazy. I know they are pretty similar and heck they might even be related, but I guess my whole point is that you are allowed taking a day off even if you didn’t originally schedule it, but don’t let that one day/night throw off your entire routine.

Now getting down to some food business. Seeing we had some chicken begging to be cooked in the fridge combined with the absolutely dreary weather outside I had decided that a hardy pasta dish would be the way to go for supper. So here it is, I pulled this recipe from a couple of different pages, picking and choosing what I liked from each of them and discarding the rest, hope you enjoy.

Chicken Carbonara:

Untitled
Serves: 6 
Calories: 590.7 – Carbs: 59.3g – Fat:22.7g- Saturated Fat: 6.4g – Protein: 36.4g –
Fiber: 9.1g

2 chicken breast diced
1 cups of diced pancetta
4 whole eggs
1.5 cups finely grated fresh parmesan
4 cloves garlic finely diced
1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
1 cup frozen peas
3 tbsp olive oil
1 pound spaghetti (whole wheat or gluten free)

  1. Heat a large pan heat 1tbsp of olive oil, once heated cook diced chicken until no longer pink. Once cooked set aside to cool.
  2. While water begins to boil in a medium size bowl mix together the eggs and parmesan cheese until thick and creamy.
  3. Place pasta in boiling water and cook according to package. While pasta is cooking, in same pan used for chicken , add remaining 2 tbsp of olive oil once hot add pancetta and cook until beginning to brown brown (about 5minutes), then add garlic and red pepper flakes and peas. Cook for another 3-5minutes. Add chicken to the pan and remove from heat let cool slightly.
  4. Drain pasta. Put pasta in the large frying pan with chicken and pancetta, mix around to allow the pasta to be coated with some of the oil and flavours in the pan. Slowly add the egg mixture.  Completely coat pasta.
  5. Serve immediately.

This dish might not the be the healthiest but it was definitely delicious, and it is nice to have a creamy pasta dish that doesn’t involve and dairy.  The addition of the red pepper flakes provides an additional kick of heat, in the future I will probably double the amount for a bit more kick.  But all in all it was a delicious supper, and soon to be delicious lunch.

Hope you are all having a great week so far. Have a great Wednesday. 

Leave a Reply

