Cooking Again

There was a point in time when I had become seriously not interested in cooking, which I normally do enjoy.  In my mind cooking does not include baking.  To this day, although I am an alright baker, it feels like such a chore to me so instead I just opt out of eating sweet treats.   Having a severe nut allergy limits me from getting deserts from restaurants and bakeries so really the only way I eat baked goods is if I make them myself or if a very trusted friend or family member makes the treats…anyways that is besides the point.
no nuts Over the past year and a half I have really started to get back into cooking, planning ahead and even precooking meals and freezing them for later when I would be feeling like having a bag of popcorn for supper was an adequate substitution for a healthy meal.

This new found desire to cook and create didn’t come out of the blue it was definitely a forced love. I had just started to see a naturopath, and had been put on a fairly strict diet, eating out and ordering in were pretty much off the menu, so I had no choice but to start cooking again.

The transition back into making meals for myself and my partner didn’t start off so smooth. There was a lot of bland chicken with boring rice, or salads with gross homemade dressing, or various other disasters that my loving boyfriend (now fiancé) ate with a smile on his face telling me how good my cooking was. Now these awful meals weren’t for a lack of skill on my part or my partner’s part, I believe it had a lot to do with the dietary restrictions, but also having forgotten how to make things taste good together without lathering everything in some sort of sauce.

After a couple of weeks, and some searching on the internet, I started looking forward to finding new meals, and getting extremely excited when I finally made something that was delicious and I was excited to eat to left overs.  Eventually I got into the swing of things, and I started playing around with some of my favourit recipes modifying them to suit my dietary restrictions, and I soon found out that I had a little Martha Stewart in me (my obsession with her was complete!)

This post was actually inspired by a pizza I made the other night it was so easy to make and so delicious and so filling.  I can only take the credit for actually making the pizza, unfortunately for me I didn’t come up with the recipe, it is from The Yoga Body Diet book which was lent to me by a friend.
YogaBodyDiet_043120_700x700_1

Just a little word on the book before moving forward and sharing the delicious pizza recipe with you, it was so tasty. Anyways, so The Yoga Body Diet is a pretty decent book, it advocates only three large meals a day, which my body really doesn’t seem to enjoy so I don’t do that. I don’t snack often but I definitely need a snack between my 6am breakfast and my 12pm lunch.

This book also provides you with various personal yoga practices.  Although the book says no experience necessary, and they do have a very comprehensive list of poses and instructions and pictures on how to do them, I personally feel like one or two classes in an actual yoga studio before diving into your own practice is the safest way to go.  It is always better to know how to safely do something with the guidance of a professional before trying to “figure it out” on your own.**

Now for the delicious pizza recipe.
pizzaRoti Vegetarian Pizza 

Servings: 4 
Calories:462.1 – Fat: 10.7g – Saturated Fat: 6g – Carbs:68.5 – Fiber: 11.3g – Protein: 28.1g

Crust:
2.5 cups of whole wheat flour (I only used 2)
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup warm water

Toppings: (you can probably do whatever you want here, but I choose to follow the recipe)
4 tbsp tomato paste
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 small bunch asparagus, cut into small pieces
1 can (6oz) artichoke (it was supposed to be 2x this amount, but I cut it in half and used marinated artichokes)
2 cups grape tomatoes, diced
2 cups shredded reduced-fat mozzarella cheese (or Daiya cheese to make it vegan/DF)
1/2 cups fresh basil leaves, thinly sliced

Directions:
Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Place 2 cups of flour in a food processor with the salt. Pulse while adding the water gradually, until a soft, sticky dough begins to form.  Place the dough in a bowl, and continue to kneed it, using the additional flour to keep it from sticking to your fingers.  Separate the dough into 4 balls, place back in the bowl and cover in a warm place for about 10minutes.

Roll each of the 4 small balls into pizza rounds, about 8 inches in diameter, keeping them very thin (about 1/8th of an inch). Top each with 1 tbsp of tomato paste and then other ingredients, putting cheese on last.

Instead of putting the basil on when the pizzas were cooked, I wanted the flavour cooked into the other ingredients so I put it under the cheese with everything else, but I am sure it would taste delicious put on at the end also. Cut in half and serve.

**my opinions on this book are just that opinions, I don’t advocate that anyone go out and buy it. I just think it is a good reference tool.

2 thoughts on “Cooking Again

Leave a Reply

