Sunday Lazy Day

This past week due to unexpected circumstances I have had to give my body a bit of a break and abstain from going to the gym, or exerting myself. After a week off I am itching to get back to the gym and my morning runs and works outs.  It is funny how something that was once dreaded, such as going to the gym, can become so missed when you aren’t allowed able to perform the activity.

Seeing I don’t have much to say on the exercise front, I figured today I would post some pictures of what my week has looked like.  There has been a lot of napping, a lot of hanging out with my cats (yes I am a bit of a crazy cat lady), and just a lot of taking care of myself so I could get back to being me as soon as possible.

But before I get into the pictures I figured I would share my granola recipe as I had promised to in the past:

Peanut Butter Granola:

2 cups of large flake oats
1/4 cup organic honey melted (you can also use maple syrup)
2 tbsp coconut oil
1/2 cup organic chunky peanut butter
1/2 cup craisins or raisins (any dried fruit is probably fine)
1/4 cup cacao chips
1/4 cup shredded coconut

Preheat oven to 350. In a microwavable bowl melt honey, peanut butter and coconut oil together stir until well combined. Stir in oats, coconut, craisins and cacao chips, until everything is well coated.
Line a backing sheet with parchment paper and spread the granola mixture evenly over the sheet.
Granola will cook for about 25-30minutes, make sure to keep an eye on it because the coconut has a tendency to burn. Flip and stir around at least twice during cooking process.
Enjoy with some soy, rice, coconut or actual milk, or just as a snack like that.

Now for some pictures, have a great Sunday.

Most of my week was spent with a fantastic view of the back of these little buggers heads:

Although looking at the backs of their heads was utterly entertaining I did keep myself busy with a healthy dose of Mario Party.

And in order to keep all of this going I did need to have some food every now and then, and seeing how I was a little under the weather some good old fashioned comfort food was in order.

So that was more or less my week in three pictures. Now after a week of lazing around and eating comfort food, I am so excited to get back to working out and eating clean!

What is your favorite thing to do when nursing your body back to health? any particular food you gravitate to?

2 thoughts on “Sunday Lazy Day

  1. Soup for sure… for the last few years, my favourite has been a Cauliflower, Leek and Spicy Sausage Soup from “The Complete Light Kitchen” by Rose Reisman.

Leave a Reply

