Wintertime

This week has started off with a kick. Actually waking up on a Monday and getting my butt to the gym for a 5am workout, which consisted of 20minutes on the treadmill, and an ab work out, followed by some back strengthening exercises. I find that even though the winter here makes it ridiculously dark in the morning until about 8am and I am leaving the gym and it is still pitch black I feel totally invigorated like I just got a burst of sunshine.

The back work out looked something like this:

back

This circuit was repeated 3 times. I could probably add more weight to the deadlifts, and plank row rotations in the future but all in all it was a pretty awesome work out.

After my workouts I generally down a protein smoothie as fast as I can because I am normally starving, so I try and get it into me at the most 30minutes after my workout.  Once I have nourished myself my thoughts for additional beverages generally wonder towards anything warm during these dark cold months.This circuit was repeated 3 times. I could probably add more weight to the deadlifts, and plank row rotations in the future but all in all it was a pretty awesome work out. 

tea

I have been totally obsessed with delicious tea beverages the past couple of weeks. I mean normally I will have my morning tea, and perhaps another one in the afternoon, but these past couple of days I can’t get enough.  Generally they are a type of green tea or herbal tea and they are always delicious. I don’t often venture away from my favourites which include my cold fighting Triple Echinacea green tea, some night time camomile and lemon, and then my all time day time favourite Starbucks Orange Blossom tea! (it is incredible!)

Besides my growing obsession for warm beverages, I have also gotten into a desire to cook and bake everything. I believe my captivity in the house due to the cold weather has a part to play in this desire. In any event due to this desire I made myself some granola last night. Using regular oats, chunky organic peanut butter, raw honey, cinnamon, cacao nibs, craisins, raisins and coconut I have made quiet the delicious snack/breakfast food.

granola

I would love to share the recipe with everyone but unfortunately I “eye balled” this one…in the future I will be sure to use measurements so I can share.

2 thoughts on “Wintertime

Leave a Reply

